The role of the French National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), a public agency and the château's current owner, is to conduct targeted research into suitable food sources, the preservation of the environment, and the development of competitive, sustainable agriculture. It was in this context that the Institute acquired Couhins, as an experimental site, particularly in the field of high environmental value viticulture (HEV) whose evolution would be guided by the results of studies carried out on the vines. The main areas of research are precision viticulture (geographic information technology) and "integrated" production or research into reducing inputs. The implementation of these projects by INRA has determined the property's development and seen its "return to the light".
A word from the director “We wish to highlight the exceptional heritage that Château Couhins represents and the technical progress that has been achieved by Inra. In order to do this, we are developing our marketing and will create a showcase of innovative wine making techniques at the property.”DOMINIQUE FORGET. Director of Chateau Couhins.
Château Couhins ("Confins" or "Border" in old Gascon) takes its name from its geographical position on the border of the old Comté d'Ornon, marked by a stream called the Eau Blanche. Until the seventeenth century the châteaus of Couhins and Carbonnieux were part of the same estate. Their wine-production probably dates back to ancient times, like many of the large vineyards on the edge of the city of Bordeaux.
The archives are particularly uninformative about the vineyard's fortunes under the Ancien Regime. However, it is known that at the end of the seventeenth century, the property belonged to the Banchereau family (solicitors in Bordeaux) and was known as "Bourdieu de la Gravette". A map of Belleyme in 1760 shows it to be a large property, but does not specify the area of the vineyard. At that time, the production consisted mainly of red wine. In the 1880s, the property was acquired by a well-known Bordeaux wine merchant, Constantin Hanappier, before becoming, through marriages and inheritances, one of the wine properties owned by the Gasqueton family, who already owned châteaus Calon Ségur and Capbern Gasqueton in Saint Estèphe. It was at this time that white wines began to be produced. Under the sound leadership of Edouard Gasqueton, the property established itself as a producer of exceptional wines, reinforced by the purchase of Château "Pont du Langon" which, attached to Couhins, enabled the vineyard to be expanded to a substantial 60 hectares.
By the 1950s, Couhins' wines had established an enviable reputation. The barrel price regularly reached 60,000 Francs, placing it among the front-runners of wines produced in the Graves region. So it was that in the 1955* classification, which was established, like the 1855 classification, on the basis of scores from the Bordeaux brokers, Château Couhins was promoted to "Cru Classé de Graves" status. *This classification was approved in 1959.
In 1962 the death of Edouard Gasqueton brought an end to this golden era and saw the start of a difficult period. The troubled times of the 1960s, with its succession of poor vintages, forced his heirs to make difficult economic choices. After granting a lease on part of the property to André Lurton, they sold the entire estate in 1968. It was then that Inra acquired Couhins, confirming Mr. Lurton's lease, and granting him a further 1.5 ha of vines ten years later, thereby giving birth to Château Couhins-Lurton. Château Couhins was thus saved in the final hour.
By 1968, Couhins' vines had virtually been abandoned. Of the tens of hectares that had been maintained a few decades ago, barely two hectares of vines remained, which André Lurton managed until 1979. Over the years that followed, Inra restructured the vineyard on the basis of a new system of plot definition and then proceeded with the construction of wine-making facilities that were completed in 1981. Today, Couhins has twenty-five hectares of vines and employs production techniques based on a combination of traditions and the results of Inra's research at the property. Marketed within Inra's extensive network for 25 years, Couhins' wines began to be sold through merchants in the Place de Bordeaux in 2007, reflecting a desire to rebuild Couhins' reputation. A further step will be completed in 2013 with the inauguration of a new production building and a reception structure providing a means of presenting this Cru Classé de Graves to professionals and wine enthusiasts.

"Fort de son ancrage historique, Château Couhins déploie aujourd’hui l’ensemble des résultats de la recherche viticole menée par l’Inra. Ses programmes de recherche et ses techniques innovantes doivent répondre à un double et ambitieux objectif : la qualité du vin produit par château Couhins dans le respect et la préservation de l’environnement. À ces fins, la viticulture de précision apporte des connaissances sur mesure du vignoble de Couhins La protection intégrée, visant à la réduction des intrants, est un levier de progrès tout aussi fondamental mis en œuvre dans les vignes de Couhins. Château Couhins valorise ainsi l’excellence des connaissances scientifiques au service d’un vin de prestige et d’une viticulture durable; autant de missions présidant à son développement et rayonnement." Philippe Mauguin - PDG de l'INRA
Le mot du directeur "Participer à l’écriture de la viticulture de demain, riche de tous ses enjeux sociétaux et environnementaux, mais aussi bénéficier, en avant-première, des dernières techniques viticoles durables et de précision ; apporter sa pierre à l’édifice du savoir, mettre ce savoir à l’épreuve de la pratique, tant dans la vigne que dans les chais, pour le transmettre ensuite aux professionnels de la filière viti-vinicole, telles sont les missions qui rassemblent l’équipe du Château Couhins. Missions qui s’avèrent être des plus enrichissantes et passionnantes."DOMINIQUE FORGET. Directeur de Chateau Couhins.
Le château Couhins réunit sur ses terres deux anciennes propriétés viticoles : le domaine de la Gravette (prenant le nom de château Couhins) et celui de Pont de Langon. Originellement distincts mais contigus, ces deux domaines rassemblés constituent, d’un seul tenant, l’actuel château Couhins portant ainsi l’héritage, sur plusieurs siècles, de l’histoire singulière du bourdieu de la Gravette et de la maison noble du Pont de Langon.
Les archives se montrent particulièrement discrètes sur le devenir du vignoble sous l’Ancien Régime. On sait néanmoins qu’à la fin du XVIIe siècle, le domaine appartient à la famille Banchereau (notaires bordelais) et émarge sous le nom de “Bourdieu de la Gravette”. En 1760, la carte de Belleyme atteste l’importance du vignoble, sans qu’il soit possible d’en préciser la superficie. Les vins rouges constituaient alors la principale production du domaine. Dans les années 1880, l’exploitation échoit à un négociant bordelais bien connu, Constantin Hanappier, avant d’intégrer, par le biais des mariages et héritages, le patrimoine viticole de la famille Gasqueton, déjà propriétaire, des châteaux Calon Ségur et Capbern Gasqueton à SaintEstèphe. C’est à cette époque que les vins blancs firent leur apparition au sein du vignoble. Sous la houlette avisée d’Edouard Gasqueton, le domaine impose l’image d’un cru d’exception, confortée, par l’achat du château du “Pont de Langon” qui, rattaché à Couhins, permet de porter le vignoble à un vaste ensemble de 60 hectares.
Dans les années 50, la production de Couhins atteint un niveau de notoriété enviable. Le prix du tonneau s’établit régulièrement autour de 60.000 Francs, plaçant le domaine dans le peloton de tête des crus de Graves. C’est ainsi que, lors du classement de 1955* établi comme celui de 1855 sur la base des notes des courtiers bordelais, le château Couhins se voit promu Cru Classé de Graves. * Ce classement sera homologué en 1959.
Interrompant cette période d’embellie, la mort d’Edouard Gasqueton, en 1962, amorce une période de difficultés. Le contexte troublé des années 1960, avec son cortège de millésimes difficiles, oblige ses héritiers à faire des choix économiques. Après avoir concédé un bail à André Lurton sur une partie de l’exploitation, ils mettent en vente l’ensemble de la propriété en 1968. L’Inra se porte alors acquéreur des terres de Couhins, tout en confirmant le bail consenti à M. Lurton, et cède à ce dernier 1.5 ha de vigne dix ans plus tard, donnant ainsi naissance au Château Couhins-Lurton. Château Couhins est alors sauvé in extremis de la disparition.
En réalité, en 1968, le vignoble de Couhins est presque à l’abandon. Sur les dizaines d’hectares qui le composaient quelques décennies auparavant, il ne reste guère que 2 hectares de vignes dont André Lurton va assurer la vinification jusqu’en 1979. Durant les années qui suivent, l’Inra va s’attacher à restructurer le vignoble sur la base d’une nouvelle définition parcellaire puis procéder à la construction d’un chai de vinification qui verra le jour en 1981. Aujourd’hui, Couhins affiche une superficie de vingt-cinq hectares et met en œuvre un mode de production inspiré de traditions et de résultats de la recherche viticole. Commercialisés pendant 25 ans au sein du vaste réseau de l’Inra, les vins de Couhins se vendent depuis 2007 par l’intermédiaire des négociants de la Place de Bordeaux, preuve d’une forte volonté de reconstruction de la notoriété de Couhins. Une étape supplémentaire sera franchie en 2013 avec l’inauguration d’un nouveau bâtiment de production et d’une structure d’accueil destinée aussi bien aux professionnels qu’aux amateurs de ce Cru Classé de Graves.